Jewish Community of Belarus
Click

 

Kobrin Synagogue Restoration Project
Click

п»ї
Jewish Heritage Research Group in Belarus  
   
 

Info


Info Belarus

   Local Time When it's 12:00 in Minsk, it will be 10:00 in Paris, 09:00 in London and 04:00 in New York. Daylight saving time (GMT+3hrs) falls between the last Sunday of March and the last Sunday of October
   Population (2001) Belarus - 10,350,194
Minsk - 1,751,300
   Population growth rate -0,15%
   Birth rate 9, 57 birth/1000 population
   Death rate 13, 97deaths/1000 population
   Ethnic Composition (2001) Belarusian - 78%
Russian - 13%
Polish - 4%
Ukrainian - 3%
Jews - 1%
Others - 1%
   Capital city Minsk
   Currency

Belarusian ruble (BR)

   Territory 207,600km
   Borders Latvia - 141km
Lithuania - 502km
Poland - 605km
Russia - 959km
Ukraine - 891km


Climate

Average high

Average
low

Warmest on record

Coldest on
record

January

-3°C

-8°C

+8°C

-30°C

February

-2°C

-8°C

+13°C

-28°C

March

+3°C

-3°C

+18°C

-25°C

April

+11°C

+2°C

+2°C

-9°C

May

+18°C

+8°C

+29°C

-2°C

June

+20°C

+11°C

+30°C

0°C

July

+21°C

+13°C

+32°C

+4°C

August

+21°C

+12°C

+35°C

+3°C

September

+16°C

+8°C

+31°C

-3°C

October

+9°C

+3°C

+22°C

-10°C

November

+2°C

-2°C

+12°C

-19°C

December

-1°C

-6°C

+10°C

-30°C



National Holidays

January 1

New Year's Day

January 7

Orthodox Christmas

March 8

International Women's Day

March 15

Constitution Day

March 31-April 1

Catholic & Protestant Easter (2002)

April 21-22

Orthodox Easter (2002)

April 30

Radunitsa (Ninth Day after Orthodox Easter)

May 1

Labor Day

May 5

Mother's Day (2002)

May 9

Victory Day

July 3

Independence Day

November 1-2

Dzyady (Remembrance Day)

December 25

Catholic & Protestant Christmas




Minsk

Currency, BYR
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright 2006-2015